Athletics » Athletics

Athletics

New Athletic Sign-up Form  *Required
 
(You must be signed into your Student Google Account to complete the form.)
 
All student athletes will now acknowledge Covid-19 Assumption of Risk, Student Athlete Handbook, and Concussion Assumption of Risk through the boxes indicated on this form.  Links for each guideline or handbook are located in the form itself.   In addition, ALL VHSL athletic physicals must be uploaded through this Google Form in order to be eligible to participate in PGHS athletic activities or any conditioning or team activities.  

Current News

 

 

 

 
Sports Pictures ACCESS
The process for ordering pictures from CANDID COLOR is:
  • Go to www.candidcolor.net
  • Click on Sports Portraits
  • Click the 2021-22 pictures link
  • Enter your school's Access Code:  PGSM22
  • Follow the on-screen instructions to view your athlete's team and individual photos.

TICKET SALES

This year Prince George High School has partnered with GoFan to enable spectators to purchase tickets to HOME games on a digital only platform. The move to digital ticketing provides the safest, easiest, and most convenient option for access to athletic events. There is a brief video below to assist you in purchasing tickets. You may use the link below or download the App to your smartphone to purchase tickets.

Click link below for short video on how to purchase tickets

https://www.vcuhealth.org/services/sports-medicine/ 

Seasonal News and Updates

Dates, times, and locations of events can be found on the calendar page at www.centraldistrictva.org

In order to be eligible for participation in PGHS Athletics, student-athletes must have passed the equivalent of 5 subjects from the prior semester and must be enrolled in at least 3 subjects for the current semester.  All participants must sign up using the New Athlete Google Link above and have a completed VHSL physical form dated after May 1, 2021 and Emergency Info form uploaded prior to the first day of tryouts.

If there are any questions, please contact the PGHS Athletic Department at 804-733-2720.

The Virginia High School League requires school districts to monitor spectator behavior at all school sponsored activities. Accordingly, an event supervisor(s) may request any person involved in misconduct to leave the premises and may contact the police for assistance. The school has the authority to suspend individuals from attending all school sponsored activities for spectator misconduct.

Prince George County Public Schools appreciates positive support from all spectators and have the following expectations:

  1. Be a positive role model.
  2. Realize that you represent the school and community and, therefore, have an obligation to be a true sportsman, encouraging through positive behavior the practice of good sportsmanship by others.
  3. Be a “team fan” and a “my kid fan.”
  4. Recognize that good sportsmanship is more important than victory by approving and applauding good team play, individual skill, and outstanding examples of sportsmanship and fair play exhibited by either team.
  5. Recognize that since the primary purpose of interscholastic athletics is to promote the physical, mental, moral, social, and emotional well-being of the players, victory or defeat are of secondary importance.
  6. Treat visiting teams and officials as guests, extending to them every courtesy.
  7. Be modest in victory and gracious in defeat.
  8. Respect the judgment and integrity of officials, realizing that their decisions are based upon game conditions.
  9. Respect the coaches and administration.
  10. Remember that a ticket to a school athletic event is revocable without refund.

Thank you and GOOD LUCK to all our teams.

Helpful Links

Important Forms

Below is the links to the required VHSL form and Emergency Info Form necessary for participation with PGHS Athletics.  Sign Up must be completed at Google Link above prior to participating.

Important Links

Below are links to the PGHS Full Student Parent Athletics Handbook and the PGHS Sports Return to Play Guidelines for your reference.

NCAA Eligibility

For information regarding NCAA eligibility please refer to the following resource.  We encourage you to contact our Athletic Department for guidance and clarification.

Guide to Eligibility

How to find Athletic Schedule and setup Notifications

Go to www.centraldistrictva.org for full schedule of athletic events and related activities.  Note, events are subject to change. 

For Subscribing to rSchools for High School Activities and Sports Information/Cancellations

  1. Visit www.centraldistrictva.org.
  2. Click your Prince George in the right side frame.
  3. Click on Notify Me in the top right
  4. Choose the sports you are interested in receiving information/cancellations, click continue.
  5. Choose the activities you are interested in receiving information/cancellations, click continue.
  6. Select when you would like to receive automatic email notifications for these activities, click continue.
  7. Complete the contact information and save settings.

 

Welcome to PGHS

Home of the Royals

 

PGHS Sports
 
Sport Coach Email School 
       
Athletic Director Bruce Carroll rbcarroll@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Asst. AD/Cheer Becky Haydt rhaydt@pgs.k12.va.us Central Office/Food Services
Asst. AD Middle School Mike Darby mdarby@pgs.k12.va.us JEJ Moore Middle School
Athletic Trainer Alex Freeman afreeman@pgs.k12.va.us VCU 
Baseball Jarrett Vaughan jcv1832@gmail.com Community
Boys Basketball Travis Carr tcarr@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Boys Soccer Scott Eley uncram15@gmail.com Community
Boys Volleyball Mayes Marks bmmarksjr5@gmail.com Community
Cross Country Caitlin Henard chenard@pgs.k12.va.us JEJ Moore Middle School
Field Hockey Julia Ellison jellison@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Football Scott Girolmo sgirolmo@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Girls Basketball Kenya Grissett kgrissett@pgs.k12.va.us Ed. Center
Girls Soccer Tommy Harrison tharrison@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Girls Volleyball Wanda Gilbert wgilbert@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Golf Wade Benenhaley wbenenhaley@pgs.k12.va.us JEJ Moore Middle School
Indoor & Outdoor Track Will Stevens wesiiifbr@gmaiml.com Community
Softball Nealan Chandler nchandler@pgs.k12.va.us PGHS
Boys Tennis (Boys) Kindall Stevenson kindall_stevenson@colonialhts.net Community
Tennis (Girls) Kenya Grissett kgrissett@pgs.k12.va.us Ed. Center
Wrestling Glen Thomas glthomas78@gmail.com Community
Hall of Fame
Use the form below to nominate for the Hall of Fame.  Parameters and instructions are included.